SWISS SUSTAINABLE REAL ESTATE INDEX

BENCHMARK

For assessing the sustainability of existing Swiss properties

UNIFORM ASSESSMENT APPROACH

Creates transparency and comparability

TRACK RECORD

Allows for an expressive record of accomplishments

EXTERNAL ASSURANCE

SGS as an independent verification body of the underlying self-assessment

SSREI

The Swiss Sustainable Real Estate Index (SSREI) was developed to assess the sustainability of Swiss properties. SSREI supports owners (real estate funds, real estate corporations, investment foundations, insurance companies, pension funds, the public sector) in achieving compliance of their properties with the increasingly stringent sustainability requirements and ensuring their long-term value.

OBJECTIVE OF THE INDEX

SSREI was launched with the aim of mapping the sustainability profile of existing Swiss properties, standardising a corresponding assessment, enabling transparency and comparability in this regard and providing the market with an important benchmark.

POTENTIAL AND ADDED VALUE

continue

continue

The assessment process supports users in determining the sustainability-specific condition of their properties, scrutinising strategic approaches in a structured manner and identifying opportunities at an early stage. In this context, the SSREI portfolio assessment tool provides indications of a property’s potential for improvement, e.g. for the development of a balanced redevelopment strategy and of the investment required to achieve the next highest sustainability value (guide value). The resulting track record also serves as a transparent communication tool towards internal (management, investment committees, etc.) and external (investors, legislators, etc.) stakeholders and creates an expressive record of accomplishments. Thus, incentives are created for owners to align their properties with the increasingly stringent sustainability requirements and to lead existing Swiss properties into a sustainable future. This provides the market with an important benchmark and combines business interests with social necessity.

STRUCTURE AND CONTENT 

The index is structurally based on the Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS Hochbau) – an instrument for implementing the Energy Strategy 2050. Adapted for application to existing properties, the defined indicators and requirements allow a comprehensive assessment of the condition of a property (Bottom-Up approach) in the areas of society, economy and the environment.

ASSESSMENT AND WEIGHTING

According to the SSREI assessment grid, the self-assessment of a property or an entire portfolio results in a guide value between 0.00 and 3.00. The index weighting is carried out on the basis of the guide value of the individual components, depending on the assessed square metres of main usable floor space (HNF, standard SIA 416).

IN THE CONTEXT OF THE SUSTAINABILITY STRATEGY

A holistic sustainability strategy is known to be multi-layered and influences both strategic and operational management. In this context, SSREI supports the focus on sustainability at portfolio and property level.

SUSTAINABILITY STRATEGY (ESG) FOR THE REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY

Click on the graphic to enlarge it

VERIFICATION BY SGS

continue
Inhaltsbereich
continue

A mandatory prerequisite for inclusion in the SSREI is the annual, sample-based verification (External Assurance) of the self-assessment by the Review Panel of SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA.

INDEX FAMILY

In a second phase, the index family is to be expanded by SSREI Performance Indices (funds, shares). The Performance Indices bundle the index components in the respective product categories (funds, shares) and map their trend. The weighting is again carried out depending on the sustainable alignment respectively on the SSREI guide value. This opens up new comparison and investment opportunities for investors.

PORTFOLIO EVALUATION TOOL

CURRENT AS OF 30.04.21

Index value                           2.09
Main use area                       434’242 m²
(HNF, Norm SIA 416)
Number of Properties         144
Number of components    3

SOCIAL MEDIA

LinkedIn

SSREI IN PRACTICE

The concept in a nutshell

The SSREI in the ESG Framework of Edmond de Rothschild Real Estate SICAV (ERRES)

CONTACT

General information on the index
Roland Vögele
MV Invest AG
rv@mvinvest.ch
+41 43 499 24 90

Technical information and assurance
Elvira Bieri
SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA
elvira.bieri@sgs.com
+41 44 445 17 17
+41 79 621 80 32

Menu

SWISS SUSTAINABLE REAL ESTATE INDEX

BENCHMARK

Zur Beurteilung der Nachhaltigkeit von Schweizer Bestandsliegenschaften

EINHEITLICHER BEWERTUNGSANSATZ

Schafft Transparenz und Vergleichbarkeit

TRACK RECORD

Ermöglicht einen aussagekräftigen Leistungsausweis

EXTERNAL ASSURANCE

SGS als unabhängige Verifizierungsstelle der zugrundeliegenden Selbstbeurteilung

SSREI

Der Swiss Sustainable Real Estate Index (SSREI) wurde zur Beurteilung der Nachhaltigkeit des Schweizer Immobilienbestands entwickelt. SSREI unterstützt die Eigentümerschaft (Immobilienfonds, Immobilien-Aktiengesellschaften, Anlagestiftungen, Versicherungen, Pensionskassen, Öffentliche Hand) dabei, ihre Immobilien entsprechend den zunehmend verschärften Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen auszurichten und deren langfristige Werthaltigkeit sicherzustellen. 

ZIEL DES INDEX

Der SSREI wurde mit dem Ziel lanciert, das Nachhaltigkeitsprofil von Schweizer Bestandsimmobilien abzubilden, eine entsprechende Bewertung zu vereinheitlichen, die diesbezügliche Transparenz und Vergleichbarkeit zu ermöglichen und dem Markt einen wichtigen Benchmark zur Verfügung zu stellen.

POTENTIAL UND MEHRWERT

weiterlesen

weiterlesen

Der Bewertungsprozess unterstützt den Anwender dabei, den nachhaltigkeitsspezifischen Zustand seiner Liegenschaften zu eruieren, strategische Ansätze strukturiert zu hinterfragen und Opportunitäten frühzeitig zu erkennen. Hierbei liefert das SSREI-Portfoliobewertungstool Anhaltspunkte zum Verbesserungspotential einer Immobilie, bspw. zur Ausarbeitung einer ausbalancierten Sanierungsstrategie und darüber, mit welchem Investitionsbedarf der nächsthöhere Nachhaltigkeits-Wert (Richtwert) erreicht werden kann. Der resultierende Track Record dient zudem einer transparenten Kommunikation gegenüber internen (Unternehmensleitung,  Anlageausschüsse, etc.) und externen (Anleger, Gesetzgeber, etc.) Anspruchsgruppen und schafft einen aussagekräftigen Leistungsausweis. Für die Eigentümer werden somit Anreize geschaffen, ihre Immobilien entsprechend den zunehmend verschärften Nachhaltigkeits-Anforderungen auszurichten und den Schweizer Liegenschaftenbestand in eine nachhaltige Zukunft zu führen. So wird dem Markt ein wichtiger Benchmark zur Verfügung gestellt und es verbinden sich betriebswirtschaftliche Interessen mit gesellschaftlicher Notwendigkeit. 

STRUKTUR UND INHALT

Der Index orientiert sich strukturell am Standard Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz (SNBS Hochbau), einem Instrument zur Umsetzung der Energiestrategie 2050. Für die Anwendung auf Bestandsliegenschaften adjustiert, erlauben die definierten Indikatoren und Anforderungen eine umfassende Beurteilung des Zustands einer Immobilie (Bottom-Up Ansatz) in den Bereichen; Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt.

BEWERTUNG UND GEWICHTUNG

Gemäss dem SSREI-Bewertungsraster resultiert bei der Selbstbeurteilung einer Liegenschaft oder eines Gesamtportfolios ein Richtwert zwischen 0.00 und 3.00. Die Index-Gewichtung wird anhand des Richtwerts der einzelnen Komponenten, in Abhängigkeit der bewerteten Quadratmeter Hauptnutzfläche (HNF, Norm SIA 416), vorgenommen.

IM KONTEXT DER NACHHALTIGKEITSSTRATEGIE

Eine ganzheitliche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie ist bekanntermassen vielschichtig und beeinflusst sowohl das strategische als auch das operative Management. In diesem Kontext unterstützt SSREI die nachhaltige Ausrichtung auf Portfolio- und Objektebene.

NACHHALTIGKEITSSTRATEGIE (ESG) FÜR DIE IMMOBILIENWIRTSCHAFT

Klicken Sie auf die Grafik, um sie zu vergrössern

VERIFIZIERUNG DURCH SGS

weiterlesen
Inhaltsbereich
weiterlesen

Zwingende Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in den SSREI ist die jährliche, stichprobenbasierte Verifizierung (External Assurance) der Selbstevaluation durch das Prüfgremium der SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA.

INDEXFAMILIE

In einer zweiten Phase soll die Indexfamilie durch SSREI Performance Indices (Fonds, Aktien) erweitert werden. Mit den Performance Indices werden die Index Komponenten in den jeweiligen Produkt-Kategorien (Fonds, Aktien) gebündelt und deren Wertentwicklung abgebildet. Die Gewichtung wird wiederum insbesondere in Abhängigkeit der nachhaltigen Ausrichtung bzw. des jeweiligen SSREI-Richtwerts vorgenommen. Den Anlegern werden dadurch neue Vergleichs- und Investitionsmöglichkeiten eröffnet.

PORTFOLIOBEWERTUNGSTOOL

AKTUELLER STAND, 30.04.21

Index Wert                           2.09
Hauptnutzfläche HNF      434’242 m²
(Norm SIA 416)
Anzahl Liegenschaften     144
Anzahl Komponenten       3

SOCIAL MEDIA

LinkedIn

SSREI IN DER PRAXIS

Pierre Jacquot, CEO, EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD REIM zur ESG Politik des Edmond de Rothschild Real Estate SICAV (ERRES)

Der SSREI im ESG Framework des Edmond de Rothschild Real Estate SICAV (ERRES)

KONTAKT

Allgemeine Auskünfte zum Index
Roland Vögele
MV Invest AG
rv@mvinvest.ch
+41 43 499 24 90

Technische Auskünfte und Assurance
Frau Elvira Bieri
SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA
elvira.bieri@sgs.com
+41 44 445 17 17
+41 79 621 80 32

Menü