SWISS SUSTAINABLE REAL ESTATE INDEX

BENCHMARK

For assessing the sustainability of existing Swiss properties

UNIFORM ASSESSMENT APPROACH

Creates transparency and comparability

TRACK RECORD

Allows for an expressive record of accomplishments

EXTERNAL ASSURANCE

SGS as an independent verification body of the underlying self-assessment

SSREI

The Swiss Sustainable Real Estate Index (SSREI) was developed to assess the sustainability of Swiss properties. SSREI supports owners (real estate funds, real estate corporations, investment foundations, insurance companies, pension funds, the public sector) in achieving compliance of their properties with the increasingly stringent sustainability requirements and ensuring their long-term value.

OBJECTIVE OF THE INDEX

SSREI was launched with the aim of mapping the sustainability profile of existing Swiss properties, standardising a corresponding assessment, enabling transparency and comparability in this regard and providing the market with an important benchmark.

POTENTIAL AND ADDED VALUE

continue

continue

The assessment process supports users in determining the sustainability-specific condition of their properties, scrutinising strategic approaches in a structured manner and identifying opportunities at an early stage. In this context, the SSREI portfolio assessment tool provides indications of a property’s potential for improvement, e.g. for the development of a balanced redevelopment strategy and of the investment required to achieve the next highest sustainability value (guide value). The resulting track record also serves as a transparent communication tool towards internal (management, investment committees, etc.) and external (investors, legislators, etc.) stakeholders and creates an expressive record of accomplishments. Thus, incentives are created for owners to align their properties with the increasingly stringent sustainability requirements and to lead existing Swiss properties into a sustainable future. This provides the market with an important benchmark and combines business interests with social necessity.

STRUCTURE AND CONTENT 

The index is structurally based on the Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS Hochbau) – an instrument for implementing the Energy Strategy 2050. Adapted for application to existing properties, the defined indicators and requirements allow a comprehensive assessment of the condition of a property (Bottom-Up approach) in the areas of society, economy and the environment.

ASSESSMENT AND WEIGHTING

According to the SSREI assessment grid, the self-assessment of a property or an entire portfolio results in a guide value between 0.00 and 3.00. The index weighting is carried out on the basis of the guide value of the individual components, depending on the assessed square metres of main usable floor space (HNF, standard SIA 416).

IN THE CONTEXT OF THE SUSTAINABILITY STRATEGY

A holistic sustainability strategy is known to be multi-layered and influences both strategic and operational management. In this context, SSREI supports the focus on sustainability at portfolio and property level.

SUSTAINABILITY STRATEGY (ESG) FOR THE REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY

Click on the graphic to enlarge it

VERIFICATION BY SGS

continue
Inhaltsbereich
continue

A mandatory prerequisite for inclusion in the SSREI is the annual, sample-based verification (External Assurance) of the self-assessment by the Review Panel of SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA.

INDEX FAMILY

In a second phase, the index family is to be expanded by SSREI Performance Indices (funds, shares). The Performance Indices bundle the index components in the respective product categories (funds, shares) and map their trend. The weighting is again carried out depending on the sustainable alignment respectively on the SSREI guide value. This opens up new comparison and investment opportunities for investors.

PORTFOLIO EVALUATION TOOL

CURRENT AS OF 30.04.21

Index value                           2.09
Main use area                       434’242 m²
(HNF, Norm SIA 416)
Number of Properties         144
Number of components    3

SOCIAL MEDIA

LinkedIn

SSREI IN PRACTICE

The concept in a nutshell

The SSREI in the ESG Framework of Edmond de Rothschild Real Estate SICAV (ERRES)

CONTACT

General information on the index
Roland Vögele
MV Invest AG
rv@mvinvest.ch
+41 43 499 24 90

Technical information and assurance
Elvira Bieri
SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA
elvira.bieri@sgs.com
+41 44 445 17 17
+41 79 621 80 32

Menu

SWISS SUSTAINABLE REAL ESTATE INDEX

BENCHMARK

Valeur de référence utilisée pour évaluer la durabilité des biens immobiliers suisses existants

APPROCHE D’ÉVALUATION UNIFORME

Crée la transparence et la comparabilité

TRACK RECORD

Permet d’obtenir des résultats significatifs

EXTERNAL ASSURANCE

SGS en tant qu’organisme de vérification indépendant de l’auto-évaluation sous-jacente

SSREI

Le Swiss Sustainable Real Estate Index (SSREI) a été mis au point dans le but d’évaluer la durabilité du portefeuille immobilier suisse. En effet, le SSREI permet aux propriétaires (fonds immobiliers, actions immobilières, fondations d’investissement, compagnies d’assurance, caisses de pension, pouvoirs publics) d’aligner leurs biens immobiliers sur les exigences de plus en plus strictes en matière de développement durable et de garantir la valeur de leurs biens à long terme.

OBJECTIF DE L’INDICE

Le SSREI a été créé afin de cartographier le profil de durabilité des biens immobiliers suisses existants, de normaliser l’évaluation correspondante, de garantir la transparence et la comparabilité à cet égard, et, enfin, de fournir au marché un point de référence important.

POTENTIEL ET VALEUR AJOUTÉE

continuer

continuer

Le processus d’évaluation aide les utilisateurs à déterminer l’état de durabilité spécifique de leurs biens, à analyser les approches stratégiques de manière structurée et, enfin, à identifier au plus tôt les opportunités. Dans ce contexte, l’outil d’évaluation du portefeuille SSREI fournit des indications quant au potentiel d’amélioration d’un bien immobilier, par exemple dans le cadre de l’élaboration d’une stratégie de rénovation équilibrée et pour les besoins d’investissement avec lesquels la valeur de durabilité plus élevée suivante (valeur de référence) peut être atteinte. Le Track Record qui en résulte sert également de moyen de communication transparent avec les parties prenantes internes (direction de l’entreprise, comités d’investissement, etc.) et externes (investisseurs, législateurs, etc.) et permet ainsi d’obtenir un bilan explicite. Ce dispositif incite les propriétaires à faire en sorte que leurs biens immobiliers respectent les exigences de plus en plus strictes en matière de durabilité. Cela mène en outre le portefeuille immobilier suisse vers un avenir durable. De cette manière, une valeur de référence importante est mise à la disposition du marché et les intérêts commerciaux sont combinés à la nécessité sociale.

STRUCTURE ET CONTENU

La structure de l’indice est basée sur la norme pour la construction durable en Suisse (SNBS Bâtiment), un instrument mis au point dans le cadre de la stratégie énergétique 2050. Adaptés de manière à pouvoir être appliqués aux biens existants, les indicateurs et les exigences définis permettent une évaluation complète de l’état d’un bien immobilier (approche Bottom-Up) dans les domaines que sont la société, l’économie et l’environnement.

ÉVALUATION ET PONDÉRATION

Selon la grille d’évaluation du SSREI, l’auto-évaluation d’une propriété ou d’un portefeuille entier permet d’obtenir une valeur de référence comprise entre 0,00 et 3,00. La pondération de l’indice est basée sur la valeur de référence des différents composants, en fonction du nombre de mètres carrés évalués de la surface utile principale (SUP, norme SIA 416). I Valeur de l’indice VR Valeur de référence MSUP Mètres carrés de la surface utile principale

DANS LE CADRE DE LA STRATÉGIE DE DURABILITÉ

On sait qu’une stratégie globale de durabilité comporte plusieurs niveaux et influence la gestion stratégique et opérationnelle. Dans ce contexte, SSREI soutient l’orientation durable au niveau du portefeuille et des immeubles.

STRATÉGIE DE DURABILITÉ POUR LE SECTEUR IMMOBILIER (ESG)

Cliquez sur le graphique pour l’agrandir

VÉRIFICATION PAR LA SGS

continuer
continuer

La vérification annuelle par échantillon aléatoire (External Assurance) de l’auto-évaluation par l’organisme de contrôle de la SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA est une condition préalable obligatoire pour l’inclusion dans le SSREI.

FAMILLE D’INDICES

Dans un second temps, la famille d’indices sera élargie pour inclure les indices de performance du SSREI (fonds, actions). Les indices de performance regrouperont les composantes de l’indice dans les catégories de produits respectives (fonds, actions) et en fonction de leur performance. En particulier, la pondération dépendra de l’orientation durable ou de valeur de référence du SSREI en question. Cela ouvre de nouvelles opportunités de comparaison et d’investissement pour les investisseurs.

OUTIL D’ÉVALUATION DU PORTEFEUILLE

SITUATION EN 30.04.21

Cours de l’indice                          2.09
Surface utile principale SUP      434’242 m²
(norme SIA 416)
Nombre d’immeubles                 144
Nombre de composants            3

SOCIAL MEDIA

LinkedIn

SSREI EN PRATIQUE

Le concept en quelques mots

Le SSREI dans le cadre ESG de la SICAV Edmond de Rothschild Real Estate (ERRES)

CONTACT

Informations générales sur l’index
Roland Vögele
MV Invest AG
rv@mvinvest.ch
+41 43 499 24 90

Informations techniques et assurance
Frau Elvira Bieri
SGS Société Générale de Surveillance SA
elvira.bieri@sgs.com
+41 44 445 17 17
+41 79 621 80 32

Menu